top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • fredericktia

Blog Post #5: Offline vs Online Identity Memes


Facebook: I don't like how more than half of my Facebook audience consist of strangers and friends I no longer talk to, so I hardly ever express myself here. Image used is an NPC meme which represent average non-special people.


Instagram: I used to express myself a lot here with the memes I post but eventually I just became a lurker who just likes memes and posts from other people.


Twitter: Currently where I feel like I can express whatever side of myself easily, given the smaller audience and how I don't need a picture to do that unlike Instagram. I just feel most at home at Twitter compared to the other two. Image used is the God-Emperor of Mankind, which is a sarcastic exaggeration of how I express myself on Twitter.


Family: Most of the time, I'm considered the one who rarely leaves his room due to my behavior, much like the basement neckbeard stereotype.


Friends: My closest friends (especially my high school barkada) are my primary target audience on Twitter, so the identities are similar. They often call me the "Dark Lord of the Outcasts" or something similar since I'm the one who united them and also the one who organizes activities; technically the closest to a functioning leader.


School: Much like on Facebook, I don't express myself much at school, so like a ghost I'm hardly ever noticed.

51 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Binhi Blog Post: Habitus

For Binhi, the community I signed up for was Gawad Kalinga Munting Pamayanan 1. It is a community near Ateneo, built by the charity organization Gawad Kalinga for families with at least one disabled r

Blog Post #4: Social Mirrors

I’ve chosen one of my high school friends, whom we shall refer by his second name David, to describe me and compare it with what I’d think he’d say. Expectation: Andros is a stoic and knowledgeable pe

bottom of page